NZWC 2020 Archive

Below is the event schedule for the three-day 2020 National Zero Waste Conference.

Looking for the video? The below button will take you to a YouTube playlist of all the available recordings for this virtual conference as provided by the National Recycling Coalition, their partners, sponsors and collaborators. Thank you NRC!

Building a Circular Economy with Zero Waste Businesses

December 1, 2020 Session 1


  • Leslie Lukacs, NRC Conference Co-Chair
  • Dave Keeling, NRC President
  • Sophie Hahn, Vice-Mayor, City of Berkeley


  • Gary Liss, Gary Liss & Associates and NRC Board (Moderator)
  • Joseph Button, Straus Family Creamery
  • Mandi McKay, Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
  • Clare Miflin, AIA, NYC “Zero Waste Design Guidelines”

Zero Waste for Industrial, Commercial and Institutional Facilities

December 1, 2020 – Session 2

Moderated Discussion Panel

  • Bob Gedert. President, NRC (Moderator)
  • Stephanie Barger, U.S. Green Building Council, TRUE Zero Waste
  • Sue Beets-Atkinson, SBM Services and Chair, GBCI Zero Waste Advisory Council
  • Lin King, Cal Zero Waste, UC Berkeley
  • Angela A. Moore, Missouri Historical Society
  • Mateus Pecanha, Zero Waste Brazil

International Zero Waste Hierarchy of Highest and Best Use

December 1, 2020 – Session 3

Moderated Discussion Panel:

  • Bob Gedert. President, NRC (Moderator)
  • Jamie Kaminski, Zero Waste Canada
  • Michael Sangiacomo, President, Recology

Zero Waste Community Plans

December 2, 2020 – Session 1


  • Denise Patel, GAIA (Moderator)
  • Aditi Varshneya, GAIA Zero Waste Master Plan
  • Jack McQuibban, Zero Waste Europe, Zero Waste Plans and Circular Economy
  • Julie Sands Tyne, City of San Diego, San Diego Zero Waste Plan
  • Portia Sinnott, Zero Waste USA, Zero Waste Principles and Tools

Zero Waste and Climate Change

December 2, 2020 – Session 2


  • David Krueger, Northern California Recycling Association, Moderator
  • Maggie Clarke, Maggie Clarke Environmental and Manhattan Solid Waste Advisory Board
  • Pal Martensson, Let’s Do It World, “Lessons from the Amazon: Lungs of the World”

Welcome and Introductions

December 3, 2020 – Session 1


  • Alec Cooley, NRC Conference Co-Chair
  • Bob Gedert,  NRC President, “Revitalization of NRC Buy Recycled Business Alliance”

Zero Waste and Climate Change

December 3, 2020 – Session 2


  • Stephen Bantillo, NRC Vice President and Policy Committee Co-Chair
  • David Pinsky, Greenpeace Oceans & Plastics Campaigner
  • Nina Butler, More Recycling and Circularity in Action

Recycling Market Development and Infrastructure

December 3, 2020 – Session 3 – Room A


  • Manuel Medrano, Association of Recycling Market Development Administrators and City of Chula Vista, Moderator
  • Wayne Gjerde, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency and NRC Board member
  • Bret Bigger, Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries
  • Ruth Abbe, Co-Chair, CRRA Global Recycling Council
  • Lisa Skumatz, Skumatz Economic Research Associates
  • Susan Kinsella, Conservatree
  • Neil Seldman, Institute for Local Self-Reliance
  • Elisa Seltzer, Resource Recycling Systems
  • Martin Bourque, Berkeley Ecology Center (Moderator)
  • Nina Butler, More Recycling and NRC Board
  • Susan Kinsella, Conservatree
  • Rory Bakke, Sustainable Concepts Studio
  • Alicia Culver, Responsible Purchasing Institute
  • Sarah O’Brien, Sustainable Purchasing Leadership Council
  • Gina Wu Lee, Upcyclers Network
  • Lynn Hoffman, Eureka Recycling
  • Jeff Donlevy, Mings Recycling

Organics and Zero Waste

December 3, 2020 – Session 3 – Room B


  • Ana Carvalho, Zero Waste International Alliance (Moderator)
  • Neil Edgar, California Compost Coalition
  • Matt Cotton, US Composting Council
  • Will Bakx, California Organics Recycling Council of CRRA
  • Kourtnii Brown, Sustainable Economies Law Center
  • Marvin Hayes, Baltimore Compost Collective
  • Kelley Dennings, Center for Biological Diversity, Population and Sustainability (Moderator)
  • Christie Keith, Break Free from Plastics Steering Committee and GAIA
  • Christienne DeTournay, Berkeley Zero Waste Commission
  • Miriam Gordon, Upstream
  • Laura Anthony, Save the Albatross Coalition and Zero Waste San Diego